New dedicated NFS Kerberos TR is now available!

When I first started as the NFS TME about 5 years ago, I took TR-4073 and expanded upon it to make it into a larger solution document that covered LDAP, NFSv4.x and Kerberos. As a result, it ballooned from 50-60 pages to 275 pages.

It seemed like a good idea at the time.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

What I discovered was that while people didn’t fully understand Kerberos, LDAP and NFSv4, many also just wanted something to help them set it up, rather than a manifesto on all the quirks and how it works. So, I decided to do that.

some-of-the-best-recurring-gags-in-family-guy-10-photos-10

TR-4616 is a new TR that is dedicated solely to a simplified setup of NFS Kerberos in ONTAP. The TR is a total of 43 pages, and only 10-15 pages of that is the actual set up.

To make it simpler, I did the following:

  • Limited the scope of setup to ONTAP 9.2 and later, Microsoft Windows 2012/2016, RHEL/Centos 6.x and 7.x
  • Less explanations of “what,” more on “how”
  • Fewer screenshots
  • No LDAP/NFS specific information not related to Kerberos

Have a look and let me know what you think!

Leave a comment